Auckland


A large, important and very diverse region, home to New Zealand’s biggest wine companies and tiny boutique vineyards, both of which produce some of its finest wines.

Spread across a large, geographically diverse area, the Auckland wine region encompasses the distinctive vineyard island of Waiheke, the historic West Auckland sub-regions of Henderson, Kumeu/Huapai/Waimauku and stretches north to the coastal enclave of Matakana, and south to Clevedon’s rolling hills. Award-winning Gewürztraminer is even crafted next to Auckland’s International Airport.

Established in the early 1900s by Croatian, Lebanese and English winemakers whose legacy and names endure today: Babich, Brajkovich, Corbans, Delegat’s, and Nobilo to name just a few, while Auckland’s current acreage is considerably smaller, magnitude remains in its collective experience, presence of significant wine companies and not least, exciting, high-quality wines over its length and breadth.

Whilst difficult to generalise across such varied terroirs, the sub-regions are united by a few common factors: volcanic, clay-rich soils, a temperate maritime climate and significantly, proximity to NZ’s largest, most economically important city.

Home to powerful, intense reds – Bordeaux-blends in the north and on Waiheke (which also has thrilling Syrah) – plus world-class Chardonnay and fine aromatics, the modern Auckland wine industry continues to shine.

Source: New Zealand Winegrowers – nzwine.com


Wineries and Vineyards of the Auckland Region

Amber Hills – http://www.amberhills.co.nz
Artisan Wines Ltd – http://www.artisanwines.co.nz
Awa Valey Wines – http://www.awavalley.co.nz
Awhitu Wines – http://www.awhituwines.co.nz
Babich Wines Ltd – http://www.babichwines.co.nz
Bonfire Ridge – http://www.mirovineyard.co.nz
Clevedon Hills Estate – http://www.vinalto.com/
Cliff Edge Wines – http://cliffedgewines.co.nz/
Constellation New Zealand – http://www.constellationnz.com
Cooks Beach Vineyard – http://www.cooksbeachvineyard.co.nz
Coopers Creek Vineyard – http://www.cooperscreek.co.nz
Corbans Wines – http://www.corbans.co.nz
Delegat’s Wine Estate – http://www.delegatwines.com
Distant Land – http://www.distantland.co.nz
Edbrooke Vineyard – http://www.waihekewine.co.nz
Fino Valley Winery & Vineyard – https://www.finovalley.com/
Gardo Morris – http://www.gardomorris.com/
Gem Wine – http://www.gemwine.co.nz/
Gillman Vineyard – http://www.gillmanvineyard.co.nz/
he Hunting Lodge Winery – https://www.thehuntinglodge.com/
Hitchen Road Vineyard – http://www.hitchen.co.nz/
John Hill Estate – http://johnhillestate.co.nz/
Kakapo Wines – https://www.facebook.com/kakapo.wines/
Karaka Point Vineyard – http://www.karakapointvineyard.co.nz/
Kerr Farm Vineyards – http://www.kerrfarmwine.co.nz/
Kim Crawford Wines – http://www.kimcrawfordwines.co.nz/
Kumeu River Wines – http://www.kumeuriver.co.nz/
Landmark Estate Wines – http://www.landmarkestate.co.nz/
Lincoln Vineyards – http://www.lincolnwines.co.nz/
Mahurangi River Winery – https://www.mahurangiriver.co.nz/
Matua Valley Wines – https://www.matua.co.nz/
Mazuran’s Vineyard – http://www.mazurans.co.nz/
Messenger Wines – http://www.messengerwines.com/
Ministry of Wine – http://ministryofwine.co.nz/
Moi Wines – http://www.moiwines.com/
Montana Wines – http://www.montana.co.nz/
Morton Estate Wines – http://www.mortonestatewines.co.nz
Nobilo – http://www.nobilo.co.nz/
Odyssey Wines – http://www.odysseywines.co.nz/
Onetangi Road Vineyard – http://www.onetangiroad.co.nz/
Puriri Hills – http://www.puririhills.com/
Rannach Vineyard – http://www.rannach.co.nz/
Rochfort Rees Wine Company – http://www.rochfortrees.co.nz/
Rongopai Wines – http://www.rongopaiwines.co.nz/
Runner Duck Estate – http://www.runnerduck.co.nz/
Sanctuary House Wines – http://www.sanctuaryhousewines.co.nz/
Sapich Brothers Ltd – http://www.sapich.co.nz/
Soho Wine Co – http://www.sohowineco.com/
Soljans Wines – http://www.soljans.co.nz
Te Henga – http://www.tehengawines.co.nz/
The People’s Wine – http://www.thepeopleswine.co.nz/
Thornbury Wines – http://www.thornbury.co.nz/
Turanga Creek – http://www.turangacreek.co.nz/
Twin Totara Wines – http://www.twintotara.co.nz/
Villa Maria Estate – http://www.villamaria.co.nz/
Volcanic Hills – http://www.volcanichills.co.nz
Waimarie Wines – http://www.waimariewines.co.nz/
West Brook Winery – http://www.westbrook.co.nz