Wairarapa


Wairarapa (Maori for ‘glistening waters’ is a compact yet diverse region of boutique producers offering high-quality examples of a wide range of varieties, supported by a vibrant, wine-focused community.

The three main sub-regions (Martinborough, Gladstone and Masterton) share broadly similar climate and soils yet also offer subtle differences in character for the discerning palate to explore.

A range of styles and varieties are on offer with standout Pinot Noir, Sauvignon Blanc and aromatics as well as stylish Chardonnay, Syrah and dessert wines.

With a fascinating early settler history, vines were first planted in 1883 though fell victim to the temperance movement in 1905 (a 1903 vintage Masterton wine tasted 82 years later was pronounced “alive and well…”). Wairarapa’s modern wine history dates from the late 1970s plantings of Martinborough producers Dry River, Martinborough Vineyard, Ata Rangi and Chifney (now Margrain).

Wairapara has just 3% of New Zealand’s land under vine, and 1% of its total production yet boasts some of NZ’s most iconic and sought-after producers.

A fairly short and definitely scenic drive from Wellington, and a mere 30-odd km from the sea both south and east, Wairarapa offers a range of wine tourism pursuits and pleasures with plenty of unique accommodation and dining options.

Source: New Zealand Winegrowers – nzwine.com


Wineries and Vineyards of the Wairarapa Region

Alana Estate Ltd – http://www.alana.co.nz/

Alexia – http://www.alexia.co.nz/

Ashwell Vineyards – http://www.ashwellvineyards.co.nz/

Ata Rangi Vineyard – http://www.atarangi.co.nz/

Big Sky Wines – http://www.bigskywines.co.nz/

Blair Patrick Estate – http://blairpatrick.co.nz/

Borthwick Estate – http://www.borthwick.co.nz/

Botanic Vineyards – http://botanicvineyards.wix.com/christopherreid

Boulders Martinborough – http://www.boulders.co.nz/

Brodie Estate – http://www.brodieestate.co.nz/

Burings of Martinborough – http://www.burings.co.nz/

Cambridge Road Vineyard – http://www.cambridgeroad.co.nz/

Christopher Reid Wines –  http://www.christopherreidwines.com

Colombo Wines – http://www.colombo.co.nz/

Coney Wines – http://coneywines.co.nz/

Cottier Estate – http://www.cottierestate.co.nz/

Croft Wines – http://croft.co.nz/

Devotus Wine – http://www.devotus.co.nz/

DON Wines – http://www.artesanovintners.com/DON/

Dry River Wines – http://www.dryriver.co.nz/

Escarpment Vineyard – http://www.escarpment.co.nz/

Fairmont Estate – http://www.fairmontestate.co.nz/

Gladstone Vineyard – http://www.gladstone.co.nz/

Grava – http://www.grava.nz/

Hamden Estate – http://hamdenestate.co.nz/

Harvest Estate – http://www.harvestestate.co.nz/

Haythornthwaite – http://www.haythornthwaite.co.nz/

Hudson Vineyard – http://www.hudsonwine.co.nz/

Johner Estate – http://www.johner-estate.com/

Julicher Estate – http://www.julicher.co.nz/

Kusuda Wines – http://www.kusudawines.com/

Lansdowne Estate – http://www.lansdownewine.co.nz/

Loopline Vineyard – http://www.loopline.co.nz/

Lynfer Estate – http://www.lynferestate.co.nz/

Ma Maison Wines – http://www.greatlittlevineyards.com/vineyard/ma-maison-wines/

Margrain Vineyard – http://www.margrainvineyard.co.nz/

Martinborough Vineyard – http://www.martinborough-vineyard.co.nz/

Matahiwi Estate – http://www.matahiwi.co.nz/

Mitre Rocks Vineyard Ltd – http://www.mitrerocks.co.nz/

Muirlea Rise – http://www.muirlearise.co.nz/

Murdoch James Estate – http://www.murdochjames.co.nz/

Nga Waka Vineyard – http://www.ngawaka.co.nz/

Ohau Gravels – http://www.ohaugravels.co.nz/

Palliser Estate – http://www.palliser.co.nz

Paper Road Wines – http://www.paperroad.co.nz/

Paulowniar Estate – http://paulowniawines.co.nz/

Poppies Martinborough – http://www.poppiesmartinborough.co.nz/

Pond Paddock – http://www.pondpaddock.nz/

Porters Pinot – http://www.porterspinot.co.nz

Redbank Estate Ltd – http://redbankjames.wordpress.com/

Ruamahanga River Estate – http://www.johner-estate.com/

Schubert Wines – http://www.schubert.co.nz/

Solstone Estate – http://www.solstone.co.nz/

Stonecrop Wines – http://www.stonecropwines.com/

Stonecutter – http://www.stonecutter.co.nz/

Stratford Wines – http://www.stratford.co.nz/

Te Kairanga Wines – http://www.tkwine.co.nz/

Terroir Wines – http://www.terroir-wines.co.nz/

The Cabbage Tree Vineyard – http://www.thecabbagetreevineyard.co.nz/

The Elder Pinot – http://www.theelderpinot.co.nz/

The Paper Road Vineyard – http://www.paperroad.co.nz/

Three Paddles – http://www.threepaddles.co.nz/

Tirohana Estate – http://www.tirohanaestate.com/

Tora Bay Wines – http://www.torabaywines.co.nz/

Treehouse Estate – http://www.treehouseestate.co.nz/

Urlar Estate – http://www.urlar.co.nz/

Vynfields – http://www.vynfields.com/

Winslow Wines – http://www.winslowwines.co.nz/

Woven Stone – http://www.wovenstone.co.nz/

Wycroft – http://www.wycroft.com/