Marlborough


New Zealand’s flagship wine region which, in combination with Sauvignon Blanc, put the country on the international wine stage. Much more than just Sauvignon though, Marlborough offers increasing depth in both varieties and terroir.

Early pioneers first planted in 1873 in the Ben Morven Valley, with further vineyards established through to the 1960s. There was then a lull until grapes were again planted in 1973, despite stiff opposition from local farming and forestry interests. Nowadays, viticulture is emphatically dominant, with over 20,000ha of vines (approximately 2/3 of the national total) under the care of wine producers of all sizes.

Consistently ranking as one of NZ’s sunniest and driest regions, Maori referred to the Wairau Valley as ‘Kei puta te Wairau’ – ‘The place with the hole in the cloud’ – reflecting the outstanding protection offered by the topography. The Wairau river bisects the valley west-to-east, with the Richmond Ranges to the north and medium sized foothills to the south.

The auspicious combination of a cool yet high sunshine climate, low rainfall and free-draining, moderately fertile soil produces uniquely vivid wines across a wide range of varieties and styles.

Alongside the increasing range of varieties, the diverse soils and meso-climates are revealing sub-regions and it is within these that Marlborough’s exciting future lies.

Source: New Zealand Winegrowers – nzwine.com


Wineries and Vineyards of the Marlborough Region

3 Stones – http://www.3stones.co.nz/

Allan Scott Wines – http://www.allanscott.com/

Ant Moore Brands Ltd – http://www.antmoorewines.com/

Ara Wines – http://www.arawines.com/

Astrolabe Wines – http://www.astrolabewines.co.nz/

Auntsfield Estate – http://www.auntsfield.co.nz/

Awatere River Wine Company – http://www.arwc.co.nz/

Ballochdale Estate – http://www.ballochdaleestate.co.nz/

Barkers Marque Wines – http://www.barkersmarque.com/

Black Cottage – http://www.blackcottagewines.co.nz/

Bladen – http://www.bladen.co.nz/

Blank Canvas Wines – http://www.blankcanvaswines.com/

Blind River – http://www.blindriver.co.nz/

Boundary Rider Wines – http://www.boundaryrider.co.nz/

Brancott Estate Wines – http://www.brancottestate.com/

Cairnbrae Vineyards – http://www.cairnbraewines.co.nz/

Catalina Sounds – http://www.catalinasounds.co.nz/

Caythorpe Family Estate – https://www.caythorpe.nz/

Charles Wiffen – http://www.charleswiffenwines.co.nz/

Chrighton Estate –  http://crightonestate.co.nz/

Churton Wines – http://www.churton-wines.co.nz/

Cirro Wines – http://www.facebook.com/cirrowines

Clark Estate – http://clarkestate.com/

Claylaur Estate Wines – http://www.claylaurwines.co.nz/

Clifford Bay Estate – http://www.cliffordbay.co.nz/

Clos Henri – http://www.closhenri.com/

Clos Marguerite – http://www.closmarguerite.co.nz/

Cloudy Bay – http://www.cloudybay.co.nz/

Corofin Wines – http://www.corofinwine.co.nz/

Croney Estates – http://www.croneyestates.com/

Dayvinleigh Vineyard – http://www.dayvinleigh.co.nz/

Delta Wine Company – http://www.deltawines.co.nz

Dog Point Vineyards – http://www.dogpoint.co.nz/

Domaine Georges Michel – http://www.georgesmichel.co.nz/

Duck Hunter Wines – http://www.duckhunter.co.nz/

Durvillea Wines – http://www.durvilleawines.co.nz/

Drylands Estate Winery – http://www.drylands.co.nz/

Eco.Love Wines – http://www.ecolovewines.com/

Eradus Wines – http://www.eraduswines.co.nz/

Esses Wine – https://esseswine.com/

Eureka Wines – http://www.facebook.com/Eurekawines

Fairbourne Estate – http://www.fairbourne.co.nz/

Fairhall Downs Estate – http://www.fairhalldowns.co.nz/

Fernz Wine – http://fernzwine.com/

Forrest Estate Wines – http://www.forrest.co.nz/

Four Hawk Day – http://fourhawkday.co.nz/

Foxes Island – http://www.foxes-island.co.nz/

Framingham – http://www.framingham.co.nz/

Fromm Winery – http://www.frommwineries.com/

Gibson Bridge – http://www.gibsonbridge.co.nz/

Giesen Wine Estate – http://www.giesen.co.nz/

Goldwater Vineyards – http://www.goldwaterwine.com/

Greywacke – http://www.greywacke.com/

Grove Mill Winery – http://grovemill.co.nz

Hãhã Wine – http://hahawine.com/

Harvest Estate – http://www.harvestestate.co.nz/

Harwood Hall – http://www.harwoodhall.co.nz/

Hawkesbridge Wines – https://www.nzwinesociety.co.nz/

Hawksfdrift Wines – http://www.hawksdriftwines.co.nz/

Herzog Winery & Restaurant – http://www.herzog.co.nz/

Highfield Estate – http://www.highfield.co.nz/

Hillersden – http://www.hillersden.com/

Huia Vineyards – http://www.huiavineyards.com/

Hunky Dory Wines – http://hunkydorywine.co.nz/

Huntaway Wines – http://www.huntaway.co.nz/

Hunters Wines – http://www.hunters.co.nz

Insight Wines – http://insightwines.com/

Invivo Wines – http://www.invivowines.com/

Isabel Estate – http://www.isabelvineyard.com

Jackson Estate – http://www.jacksonestate.co.nz/

Johanneshof Cellars – http://www.johanneshof.co.nz/

Jules Taylor Wines – http://www.julestaylor.com

Kathy Lynskey Wines – http://www.kathylynskeywines.co.nz/

Kerner Estate – http://www.kerner.co.nz/

Kim Crawford Wines – http://www.kimcrawfordwines.co.nz/

Kimura Cellars – http://kimuracellars.com/

Konrad and Co. Wines – http://www.konradwines.co.nz/

Kurukuru Wines – http://www.kurukuru.co.nz/

Lake Chalice Wines – http://www.lakechalice.com/

Lawsons Dry Hills – http://www.lawsonsdryhills.co.nz/

Little Beauty – http://www.littlebeauty.co.nz/

Little Darling Wines – http://www.littledarlingwines.com/

Little Rippa – http://www.lilrippa.co.nz/

McBride-Sillig Vineyard – http://www.mcbridesillig.co.nz/

McNaught & Walker – http://www.mcnaughtwalker.com

Mahi Wines – http://www.mahiwine.co.nz/

Map Maker Wines – http://www.mapmaker.co.nz/

Marisco Vineyards – http://www.marisco.co.nz/

Marlborough Grape Producers (MGP) – http://www.mgp.coop

Marlborough Natural Winegrowers (MANA) – http://www.manaorganicwines.co.nz/

Marlborough Single Vineyard Wines – http://www.marlboroughsinglevineyards.co.nz/

Marlborough Wine Ltd – http://marlboroughwineslimited.co.nz/

Methode Marlborough – http://www.methodemarlborough.org/

Maven Wines- http://www.mavenwines.co.nz/

Misty Cove Wines – http://www.mistycovewines.com/

Momo Wines – http://seresin.co.nz/collections/momo

Mount Base Vineyards – http://www.mountbase.co.nz/

Mount Fishtail – http://www.mountfishtailwines.co.nz

Mount Riley Wines – http://www.mountriley.co.nz/

Nautilus Estate – http://www.nautilusestate.com/

No 1 Family Estate – http://www.no1familyestate.co.nz/

O’Dwyers Creek – http://www.odwyerscreek.co.nz/

Omaka Springs Estate – http://www.omaka.co.nz/

One Block Wines – http://www.oneblockwines.co.nz/

Opawa – Wine of Marlborough – http://www.opawawine.com/

O:Tu (Otuwhero Estates) – http://www.otuwine.com/

Oyster Bay – http://www.oysterbaywines.co.nz/

Paua Bay Wine – http://www.pauabaywines.co.nz/

Pear Tree Wines – http://www.peartreewines.com/

Ra Nui Wines – http://www.ranuiwines.co.nz/

Rapaura Springs – http://www.rapaurasprings.co.nz/

Red Deer Wine – http://reddeerwine.com/

Reliance Wines – http://www.reliancewines.co.nz/

Rimapere – http://www.kobrandwineandspirits.com/portfolio/rimapere

River Farm Wines – http://www.riverfarmwines.co.nz/

Riverby Estate – http://www.riverbyestate.com/

Riverlore Wines – http://www.riverlorewines.co.nz/

Riversleigh Estate – http://www.riversleigh.net/

Rock Ferry Wines – http://www.rockferry.co.nz/

Saint Clair Family Estate – http://www.saintclair.co.nz/

Sarastro Wines – http://www.sarastrowines.co.nz/

Savvy Wines – http://www.savvywines.co.nz/

Sentinel Vineyard – http://www.sentinelvineyard.com/

Seresin Estate – http://www.seresin.co.nz/

Snapper Rock Wines – http://www.snapperrockwine.co.nz/

Söderberg Wines – http://soderbergwines.co.nz/

Southbank Estate – http://www.southbankestate.com

Sowman Estate – http://www.tindallvineyard.co.nz

Spring Creek Estate – http://springcreekestate.co.nz/

Spy Valley – http://www.spyvalleywine.co.nz/

St Lukes Estate Wines – http://www.stlukeswines.co.nz/

Staete Landt – http://www.staetelandt.co.nz/

Stanley Estates – http://www.stanleyestates.co.nz/

Starborough Farming Co – http://starborough.co.nz/

Stoneleigh Vineyard – http://www.stoneleigh.co.nz/

Sugar Loaf Wines – http://www.sugarloafwines.co.nz/

Summerhouse – http://www.summerhouse.co.nz

Sunshine Bay Wines – http://www.sunshinebaywines.co.nz/

Swan’s Flight Wines – http://swansflightwines.com/

Tapi Wines – http://www.tapiwines.com/

te Pa Wines – http://www.tepawines.com/

Te Whare Ra Wines – http://www.twrwines.co.nz/

Ten Sisters – http://www.tensisters.co.nz/

Terrace Heights Estate – http://www.thewine.co.nz

Terravin Wines – http://www.terravin.co.nz/

The Better Half Wines – http://www.thebetterhalf.co.nz/

The Crossings – http://www.thecrossings.co.nz

The Darling Wines – http://www.thedarlingwines.com

The NZ Wine Company Ltd – http://www.nzwineco.co.nz

Tiki Wines – http://www.tikiwine.com/

Tinpot Hut Wines – http://www.tinpothut.co.nz/

Tohu Wines – http://www.tohuwines.co.nz

ToiToi Wines – http://www.toitoiwines.co.nz/

Torea Wines – http://www.toreawines.co.nz/

Totara Wines – http://www.totarawines.co.nz/

Tua Marina Vineyard – http://www.tuamarinavineyards.co.nz/

Turning Heads – http://turningheads.co.nz/

Tupari Wines – http://www.tupari.co.nz

Twin Islands – http://twinislandswine.com/

Two Rivers of Marlborough Wines – http://www.tworivers.co.nz/

Two Tails – http://www.twotails.co.nz/

Vavasour Winery – http://www.vavasour.com/

Vicarage Lane – http://www.vicaragelane.com/

Villa Maria Marlborough Winery – http://www.villamaria.co.nz/

Vinultra – http://vinultra.com/

Viscosity Wines – http://www.viscosity.co.nz

Wairau River Wines – http://www.wairauriverwines.com/

Walnut Block Wines – http://www.walnutblock.co.nz/

Ward Valley Estate – https://www.wardvalleyestate.com/

Waterfalls Road Wine – http://www.waterfallsroad.co.nz/

Whitehaven – http://www.whitehaven.co.nz/

Wild South – http://www.wildsouthwines.co.nz/

Wither Hills – http://www.witherhills.co.nz/

Wyebrook Estate – http://www.wyebrookestate.co.nz/

Yealands Estate – http://www.yealands.com/Y

Y2KX Collective – http://y2kx.com/

Zephyr Wines – http://www.zephyrwine.com/