Wine Industry Recognises Viticultural Excellence at 2017 Romeo Bragato Wine Awards

A Cabernet Franc from Canterbury has come out on top at this year’s Bragato Wine Awards.

Grown by Lindsay Hill, in the Waipara West vineyard located in Canterbury, The Boneline Cabernet Franc 2016 won the coveted Bragato Trophy for Champion Wine of the Show.  The wine also picked up the O-I New Zealand Trophy for Champion Emerging Red Wine.

“This Cabernet Franc was a pleasure to judge, but equally an absolute joy to taste, savour and discuss,” said Chair of Judges Ben Glover. “This wine is certainly all about a single site… A real treat”.

Fourteen trophies in total were awarded and the geographical spread was diverse, with four going to Marlborough; three each going to Hawke’s Bay, Canterbury and Otago; and one going to Nelson.

The Bragato Wine Awards recognise the grower for viticultural excellence and acknowledges that growing excellent grapes is the foundation of making wines of true quality.  For the first time in the competition’s 23 year history, all wines entered in 2017 had to be single vineyard wines.

“By making the shift to a single vineyard show, we’re allowing our industry to express the Turangawaewae of their distinctive sites,” said Mr Glover.

The Bragato Wine Awards are held each year as part of the New Zealand Winegrowers Romeo Bragato National Conference. The Champion Wine of the Show was announced at the Conference Dinner last night. For more information visit

Bragato Wine Awards 2017 Trophy Results:

Bragato Trophy for Champion Wine of the Show

The Boneline Cabernet Franc 2016
Vineyard: Waipara West
Grower: Lindsay Hill

Mike Wolter Memorial Trophy for Champion Pinot Noir

Ruby Bay Pinot Noir 2016
Vineyard: Ruby Bay Vineyard
Grower: Andrew Tamplin

Alan Limmer Trophy for Champion Syrah

Coopers Creek SV ‘Chalk Ridge’ Syrah 2015
Hawke’s Bay
Vineyard: Chalk Ridge
Grower: Wayne Morrow

O-I New Zealand Trophy for Champion Emerging Red Wine

The Boneline Cabernet Franc 2016
Vineyard: Waipara West
Grower: Lindsay Hill

Tom McDonald Memorial Trophy for Champion Classical Red Wine

Saint Clair James Sinclair Cabernet Merlot 2015
Hawke’s Bay
Vineyard: Plateau Vineyard
Grower: Neal & Judy Ibbotson

Richard Smart Trophy for Champion Rosé

Clark Estate Dayvinleigh Rosé 2017
Vineyard: Dayvinleigh
Grower: Kevin Johnston

New Zealand Frost Fans Trophy for Champion Sweet Wine

Villa Maria Reserve Noble Riesling Botrytis Selection 2015
Vineyard: Rocenvin Vineyard
Grower: Christine Fletcher

Glengarry Trophy for Champion Sparkling Wine

Akarua Vintage Brut 2011
Vineyard: Cairnmuir Road
Grower: Mark Naismith

Friedrich Wohnsiedler Trophy for Champion Riesling

Waipara Hills Soul Deans Riesling 2015
Vineyard: Deans Vineyard
Grower: Accolade Wines

Brother Cyprian Trophy for Champion Pinot Gris

Devil’s Staircase Pinot Gris 2016
Vineyard: Rockburn Wines Ltd
Grower: Chris James, Richard Bunton, Paul Halford

Nick Nobilo Trophy for Champion Gewürztraminer

Bladen Gewürztraminer 2016
Vineyard: Paynters Road Vineyard
Grower: Keven and Kerry Tilly

O-I New Zealand Trophy for Champion Emerging White Wine

Askerne Viognier 2016
Hawke’s Bay
Vineyard: Askerne
Grower: Kathryn and John Loughlin

Spence Brothers Trophy for Champion Sauvignon Blanc

Konrad Single Vineyard Sauvignon Blanc 2016
Vineyard: Konrad Wines
Grower: Konrad Hengstler

Bill Irwin Trophy for Champion Chardonnay

Domaine Rewa Chardonnay 2015
Vineyard: Domaine Rewa
Grower: Philippa Fourbet

For more information visit

Sarah Szegota  |  Communications Manager | New Zealand Winegrowers
P: +64 9 306 5553  |  M: +64 21 453 668  |

Share This Page / Post