Royal Easter Show Wine Awards – 2012 Trophy Winners

We would like to congratulate all the Trophy Winners on their success at the Royal Easter Show Wine Awards Dinner on Saturday night, especially to Tony Southgate and the team at Brightwater Vineyards for Champion Chardonnay and Champion wine of the Show – excellent result.

Special congratulations also to Sir George Fistonich of Villa Maria who was awarded the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal for services to the New Zealand Wine Industry and to John Buck of Te Mata Estate on his induction into the New Zealand Wine Hall of Fame.

2012 Medal numbers and percentages: GOLD Medals : 111, 8.8% SILVER Medals : 198, 15.7% and BRONZE Medals : 497, 39.4%


Champion Wine of the Show – O-I New Zealand Trophy:
Brightwater Vineyards Lord Rutherford Barrique Chardonnay 2009

Champion Chardonnay – New World Trophy:
Brightwater Vineyards Lord Rutherford Barrique Chardonnay 2009

Champion Gewürztraminer – The Village Press Trophy:
Distant Land Gewurztraminer 2011

Champion Sauvignon Blanc – Guala Closures Trophy:
Villa Maria Single Vineyard Southern Clays Sauvignon Blanc 2011

Champion Riesling – Red Badge Security Trophy:
Clark Estate Single Vineyard Riesling 2011

Champion Pinot Gris – Datacom Trophy:
Sileni Estate Selection ”The Priestess” Hawke’s Bay Pinot Gris 2010

Champion Viognier – DrinksBiz Trophy:
Coopers Creek Gisborne Viognier 2010

Champion Wine of Other Varieties – United Cleaning Services Trophy:
Coopers Creek SV Hawkes Bay Malbec ”Saint John” 2010

Champion Sweet Wine – Riedel Trophy:
Brancott Estate Brancott “B” Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc 2011

Champion Cabernet Sauvignon & Merlot – Auckland A & P Association Trophy:
Church Road Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot 2009

Champion Merlot – Show Light & Power Ltd Trophy:
Villa Maria Reserve Gimblett Gravels Hawkes Bay Merlot 2010

Champion Syrah – Sky City Trophy:
Matua Valley Reserve Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2010

Champion Pinot Noir – New Zealand WineGrower Magazine Trophy:
Two Degrees Pinot Noir 2009

Champion Rosé – Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Trophy:
Stoneleigh Pinot Noir Rosé 2011

Champion Sparkling – Rapid Labels Trophy:
Lindauer Classic Brut NV

Champion Export Wine – Champion Riesling – Auckland A. P. & I. Shows Board Trophy:
Waimea Gewurztraminer 2011

Wine Makers of the Year – Royal Agricultural Society Gold Medal:
Tony Southgate, Brightwater Vineyards, Nelson

Share This Page / Post