Hawkes Bay


New Zealand’s second largest wine region, sunny Hawke’s Bay has been an abundant source of fine wine since 1851; it’s well-established wine tourism trail also showcases the region’s art deco architecture (mainly in Napier city) and artisan producers.

Hawke’s Bay’s benign climate and high sunshine have long-established the region as ideal for fruit-growing. Vines were first planted in 1851 by Marist missionaries (their legacy is Taradale’s historic Mission Winery) and Hawke’s Bay enjoys a significant international reputation for producing some of the country’s best wines, red and white.

A relatively large and diverse region capable of producing a wide range of varieties to a very high standard, Hawke’s Bay is best known for its Bordeaux-blend reds and Chardonnay but aromatic whites are consistently good and Syrah is increasingly impressive. The climate and lengthy growing season also allows regular production of successful dessert styles. New varieties are continually trialled.

The numerous wineries and vineyards encompass both large multi-regional entities and tiny family-owned boutique producers; all share a commitment to making great wine.

With its lengthy history and verdant, productive landscape, Hawke’s Bay is home to an outstanding wine tourism culture and offers a wide variety of cellar door experiences as well as regular food and wine festivals.

Source: New Zealand Winegrowers – nzwine.com


Wineries and Vineyards of the Hawke’s Bay Region

1/4 Acre Wines – http://www.rmwines.co.nz/#1-4-acre-wines

Abbey Cellars – http://www.abbeycellars.com/

Alluviale – http://www.alluviale.com/

Alpha Domus – http://www.alphadomus.co.nz/

Ash Ridge Vineyards – http://www.ashridgewines.co.nz/

Askerne Estate Winery – http://www.askerne.co.nz/

Beach House Wines – http://www.beachhouse.co.nz/

Bearsley Wines – http://www.bearsleywines.co.nz/

Bell Bird Bay – http://www.bellbirdbay.co.nz/

Big Bunch Wines – http://bigbunchwines.co.nz/

Bilancia – http://www.bilancia.co.nz/

Black Barn – http://www.blackbarn.com/

Blake Family Vineyard – http://www.bfvwine.com/

Bridge Pa Triangle – http://www.bridgepatriangle.nz/wineries/

Brookfields Vineyards – http://www.brookfieldsvineyards.co.nz/

Church Road Winery – http://www.churchroad.co.nz/

Clearview Estate Winery – http://www.clearviewestate.co.nz/

Collaboration Wines – http://www.collaborationwines.co.nz

Crab Farm – http://www.crabfarmwinery.co.nz

Craggy Range – http://www.craggyrange.com/

Crossroads – http://www.crossroadswines.co.nz/

Crush Pad Wines – http://www.crushpad.co.nz/

Cypress Wines – http://cypresswines.co.nz/

Dartmoor Road – http://www.dartmoorroad.co.nz

de la Terre – http://delaterre.co.nz/

Decibel Wines – http://www.decibelwines.com/

Dolbel Estate – http://www.dolbelestate.co.nz/

Easthope Winegrowers – http://www.easthope.co.nz/

Element Wines – http://www.elementwines.co.nz/

Elephant Hill – http://www.elephanthill.co.nz/

Esk Valley Estate Winery – http://www.eskvalley.co.nz/

Gimblett Gravels – http://gimblettgravels.com/

Greyrock – http://www.greyrock.co.nz/

Gunn Estate Winery – http://www.gunnestate.co.nz/

Hatton Estate – http://www.hattonestate.com/

Hawkes Ridge Wine Estate – http://www.hawkesridge.co.nz/

Hettinga Estates – http://www.hettinga.co.nz/

Hopes Grove – http://www.hopesgrove.co.nz/

Junction Wines – http://www.junctionwines.co.nz/

Ka Tahi Wines – http://www.katahiwines.com/

Kate Bradburnd Wines – http://www.pask.co.nz/category/kate-radburnd.aspx

Kingsley Estate – http://www.kingsley.co.nz/

Kiwi House – http://www.kiwihousewine.co.nz/

Lime Rock Wines – http://www.limerock.co.nz/

Linden Estate Winery – http://www.lindenestatewinery.co.nz/

Longridge Wines – http://www.longridge.co.nz/

Maimai Creek – http://www.maimaicreek.co.nz/

Mangaorapa Estate – http://www.mangaorapa.co.nz

Mark Rattray Wines – http://www.markrattray.co.nz/

Matariki Wines – http://www.matarikiwines.co.nz/

Maxim Wines – https://www.maximwines.nz/

Mills Reef Winery – http://www.millsreef.co.nz/

Mission Estate Winery – http://www.missionestate.co.nz/

Moana Park – http://www.moanapark.co.nz

Monowai Estate – http://www.monowai.co.nz/

Ngatarawa Wines – http://www.ngatarawa.co.nz/

Osawa Wines – http://www.osawawines.co.nz/

Paritua Vineyards – http://paritua.com/

Pask Winery – http://www.pask.co.nz/

Petane Station – https://petanestation.co.nz/

Pig’s Back – https://www.pigsback.nz/

Pukeora Estate – http://www.pukeora.com/

Red Barrel Wines & The Tasting Table – http://www.redbarrel.co.nz/

Redmetal Vineyards – http://www.redmetalvineyards.co.nz

Rod McDonald Wines – http://www.rmwines.co.nz/

Riverside Wines – http://www.riversidewines.co.nz/

Sacred Hill Winery – http://www.sacredhill.co.nz/

Salvare Estate – http://www.salvare.co.nz/

Sileni Estates – http://www.sileni.co.nz/

Squawking Magpie – http://www.squawkingmagpie.co.nz/

Stonecroft – http://www.stonecroft.co.nz

Supernatural Wine Co. – http://www.supernaturalwine.com/

Te Awa Estates – http://www.teawa.com/

Te Awanga Estate – http://teawangaestate.net.nz/

Te Mata Estate Winery – http://www.temata.co.nz

The Old Church – http://www.theoldchurch.co.nz/

Tironui Estate – http://www.tironuiestate.com

Tony Bish Wines – http://www.tonybishwines.co.nz/

Triangle Cellars – http://www.trianglered.co.nz

Trinity Hill – http://www.trinityhill.co.nz

Tuki Vineyard – http://www.tuki.co.nz/

Tukipo River Estate – www.tukiporiverestate.co.nz

Tukipo Terraces – http://www.tukipoterraces.co.nz/

Two Terraces – http://www.twoterraces.nz/

Unison Vineyard – http://www.unisonvineyard.co.nz/

Vidal Estate – http://www.vidal.co.nz/

White Cliff Wines – http://whitecliffwines.com/

Wild Rock Wine Company – http://www.wildrockwine.co.nz/

William Murdoch – http://www.williammurdoch.co.nz

Wishart Estate – http://www.wishartwinery.co.nz/

Villa Maria – http://www.villamaria.co.nz

Young Estate – http://www.youngestate.co.nz/

Zepelin Wines – http://www.zepelin.co.nz/