Northland


Warm spring temperatures, hot dry summers, and calm, clear autumn days allow fruit to ripen early, creating full-bodied and rich wines.

Its northern location and close proximity to the sea (nowhere is more than 50 kilometres from the ocean) give the Northland region an almost subtropical climate.

The first vines in New Zealand were planted in the Bay of Islands by the missionary, Reverend Samuel Marsden in 1819.

In the late 1800s, the Croatian gumdiggers arrived bringing their European tradition of winemaking.

The region’s tropical Chardonnays, popular Pinot Gris and vibrant Viogniers are leading the white wine growth. Red wines produced include spicy Syrahs, stylish Cabernet and Merlot blends, peppery Pinotages and complex Chambourcin.

Stretching from Karikari in the north to Mangawhai in the south, each vineyard in Northland is unique in aspect, soil, and micro-climate.

Northland’s grape vines receive more heat to assist grape ripening during the growing season than any of the country’s other winegrowing regions.

Source: New Zealand Winegrowers – nzwine.com


Wineries and Vineyards of the Northland Region

144 Islands – https://www.144islands.co.nz/

AkeAke Vineyard – http://www.akeakevineyard.co.nz

Boulder Bay Wines – https://boulderbaywines.co.nz/

Byrne Northland Wines – http://byrnewine.com/wordpress/

Cottle Hill Winery – http://www.cottlehill.co.nz

Dancing Petrel Wines – https://dancingpetrel.co.nz/

Fat Pig Vineyard – http://www.fatpig.co.nz

Holdfast Winehttps://www.holdfastwine.co.nz/

Iron Hills Vineyards – http://www.ironhills.co.nz

Kainui Road Vineyard – http://www.kainuiroad.co.nz/

Karapiro Vineyard – http://www.kapiro-vineyard.co.nz

Karikari Estate – http://www.karikariestate.co.nz

Lochiel Estate – http://www.lochielestate.co.nz

Longview Estate – http://www.longviewwines.co.nz

Mad Dog Vineyard – http://www.maddogvineyard.co.nz/

Marsden Estate – http://www.marsdenestate.co.nz

Millars Vineyard – http://www.millarsvineyard.co.nz

Morpork Vineyard – http://moreporkvineyard.co.nz/

Okahu Estate – http://www.okahuestate.co.nz

Omata Estate – http://www.omata.co.nz

Paroa Bay Winery – https://www.paroabay.com/

Rogue Vine Vineyard – https://www.facebook.com/RogueVine/

Sailfish Cove – http://www.sailfishcove.co.nz

Soland & James – https://solandandjames.com/

Te Whai Bay Wines – http://www.tewhaibaywines.co.nz/

The Landing Wine – http://www.thelandingnz.com/