North Canterbury


Where the Southern Alps tumble down to meet extensive lowlands, boutique producers craft outstanding Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and fine aromatic wines.

The Canterbury wine region spans nearly 200km of the South Island’s eastern coastline, with the magnificent Alps to the west and the sweeping Pacific Ocean to the east.

The region has an excellent reputation for elegant and expressive Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and aromatics, with other varieties achieving outstanding results.

The cool, dry climate with high sunshine and a long growing season promotes full varietal expression.

Vineyards were first established on the Canterbury Plains in 1978, with plantings to the south-west of Christchurch and North Canterbury following close behind.

Today vines are planted from Waimate in the south, to Cheviot in the north, and include the micro-climates of Banks Peninsula and Waipara Valley. The latter has drawn critical acclaim for its sub-regional expression.

Exploration into new sub-regions forecasts exciting depth and diversity for the area’s future wine offerings.

“Canterbury’s stunning Waipara Valley region is one of the unsung heroes of the wine industry.” BOB CAMPBELL MW, 2004, AIR NZ INFLIGHT MAGAZINE

Source: New Zealand Winegrowers – nzwine.com


Wineries and Vineyards of The North Canterbury Region

27 Seconds – https://27seconds.co.nz/
Alan McCorkindale – http://www.alanmccorkindale.com/
Antills Wine – https://antills.co.nz/
Angela Stone Wine – http://angelastone.co.nz/angela-stone-wine/
Ataahua Wines – http://www.ataahuawine.co.nz/
Bellbird Spring – http://www.bellbirdspring.co.nz/
Bell Hill Vineyard – http://www.bellhill.co.nz/
Black Estate – http://blackestate.co.nz/
Blackhouse – http://www.blackhouse.co.nz/
Braided River Wines – http://www.braidedriver.co.nz/
Canterbury Wine Growers Association – http://www.canterburywine.co.nz/
Charr Rees Vineyard – http://www.charreesvineyard.co.nz/
Cracroft Chase – http://www.cracroftchase.co.nz/
Cross Hares – https://crosshares.nz/
Dallington Downs – http://www.dallingtondowns.com/
Darjon Vineyards – http://www.darjon.co.nz/
Darnley Corner – https://www.facebook.com/darnleycornerwines/
Dunnolly Estates – http://www.dunnolly.co.nz
Fancrest Estate Limited – http://www.fancrest.com/
Fiddlers Green Vineyard & Bistro – www.FiddlersGreenBistro.co.nz
Forager – http://www.foragerwine.co.nz/
French Peak -https://www.frenchpeakwines.com/
Georges Road Wines – http://www.georgesroadwines.co.nz/
Glasnevin Wines – http://www.glasnevinwines.co.nz/
Greystone Wines – http://www.greystonewines.co.nz/
House of Ball – http://houseofball.co.nz/
Koyama Wines – https://www.koyamawines.com/
Lone Goat Vineyards – http://www.lonegoat.co.nz/
Main Divide – http://www.maindivide.com/
McGeorge Wine – https://mcgeorgewine.co.nz/
Melton Estate – http://www.meltonestate.co.nz/
Meniscus Wines – http://www.meniscuswines.co.nz/
Mischief – https://www.mischiefwithwine.co.nz/
Mon Cheval Wines – http://www.monchevalwines.co.nz/
Mount Brown – http://www.mountbrown.co.nz/
Mountford Estate – http://mountfordvineyard.co.nz/
Mt Beautiful – http://www.mtbeautiful.co.nz/
Muddy Water – http://www.muddywater.co.nz
Omarino Wine Park – http://www.omarinowinepark.co.nz/
Pegasus Bay – http://www.pegasusbay.com/
Pyramid Valley – http://pyramidvalley.co.nz/
Rossendale Wines – http://www.rossendale.co.nz/
Saving Grace Wines – http://www.savinggracewines.com/
Sherwood Estate – http://www.sherwood.co.nz/
Silver Wing Wines – http://www.silverwingwines.co.nz/
Small Theory Wines – http://smalltheory.co.nz/
Stephenson Estate – http://www.stephensonestate.co.nz/
Straight 8 Estate – http://www.straight8estate.co.nz/
Terrace Edge – http://www.terraceedge.co.nz/
The Boneline – http://theboneline.co.nz/
The Crater Rim – http://www.craterrim.co.nz/
The Hermit Ram – http://www.thehermitram.com/
The Old Glenmark Vicarage – http://www.glenmarkvicarage.co.nz/
The Third Man – http://thethirdman.co.nz/
Thousand Voices – https://www.facebook.com/thousandvoices/
Tiki Wine – http://tikiwine.com/
Tongue in Groove – http://tongueingroove.co.nz/
Torlesse Wines – http://www.torlesse.co.nz/
Tussock Hill Vineyard – http://tussockhillvineyard.co.nz/
Waiau River Estate – https://waiauriverestate.co.nz/
Waipara Hills – http://www.waiparahills.co.nz/
Waipara River Estate – http://www.waiparariver.com
Waipara Springs – http://www.waiparasprings.co.nz
Waipara West – http://www.waiparawest.com/
Whistling Buoy – http://www.whistlingbuoy.co.nz