New Zealand Wines Awarded Trophies at IWC 2023

In its 39th year, the International Wine Challenge (IWC) is accepted as the world’s most rigorous, impartial and influential annual wine competition. There is one annual tasting for the International Wine Challenge (IWC). This takes place in April every year.

IWC New Zealand Glasses

The rigorous IWC judging process assesses every wine ‘blind’ and judges each for its faithfulness to style, region and vintage. Each IWC medal-winning wine is tasted on at least three separate occasions by a minimum of 2 panels of judges tasting together, and then tasted by 2 Co-Chairs to verify the panel results. The IWC judging teams include experts and influencers from the international wine industry, commercial decision makers, buyers and MWs working in unison to find the highest quality wines each year from the 52 wine-producing countries represented in the competition.

Why is IWC competition different?

An IWC medal-winning wine is tasted by a minimum of 8 judges before being awarded. The rigorous process is respected by international wine retailers and buyers and opens the door for international trade communication. All wines are tasted blind with no pricing or producer information provided. Wines are grouped by Type, Region, Alcohol & Sugar %, ensuring similar wines are judged together. All IWC wine results are hosted on the IWC website alongside a bottle photo to ensure trade and consumers can easily identify the winning wine.

New Zealand wine producers enter hundreds of wines every year with great success across all categories and varieties.

17 Trophies won by 11 wines

Church Road 1 Chardonnay, 2021 Hawke’s Bay (96 Pts)
Gold Medal, Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay Trophy

Church Road 1 Malbec, 2020 Hawke’s Bay (95 Pts)
Gold Medal, Hawke’s Bay Malbec Trophy

Coal Pit Tiwha Pinot Noir, 2019 Central Otago (96)
Gold Medal, Gibbston Pinot Noir Trophy, Otago Pinot Noir Trophy, New Zealand Pinot Noir Trophy

Giesen Single Vineyard Clayvin Syrah, 2021 Marlborough (96 Pts)
Gold Medal, New Zealand Syrah Trophy, New Zealand Red Trophy, International Syrah Trophy

Greystone Chardonnay, 2021 Canterbury (97)
Gold Medal, Canterbury Chardonnay Trophy, New Zealand Chardonnay Trophy, New Zealand White Trophy

Lawson’s Dry Hills Reserve Chardonnay, 2021 Marlborough (96Pts)
Gold Medal, Marlborough Chardonnay Trophy

McArthur Ridge Southern Tor, 2021 Central Otago (96 Pts)
Gold Medal, Alexandra Pinot Noir Trophy

Matahiwi Holly South Series Pinot Noir, 2021 Wairarapa (96 Pts)
Gold Medal, Wairarapa Pinot Noir Trophy

Passage Rock Reserve Viognier, 2022 Auckland (95 pts)
Gold Medal, New Zealand Viognier Trophy

Passage Rock Wines Magnus, 2019 Auckland (96)
Gold Medal, New Zealand Red Blend Trophy

Yealands Estate Single Block S1 Sauvignon Blanc, 2022 Marlborough (96 Pts)
Gold Medal, New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc Trophy

Here are the rest of the collated results for New Zealand winning wines.

38 x Gold Medals Medals – RESULTS | 107 Silver Medals – RESULTS | 110 Bronze Medal – RESULTS

68 Commended – RESULTS | 2 Great Value – RESULTS

IWC Web Page
Share This Page / Post