National Wine Awards of Aotearoa New Zealand Medal Winners

The National Wine Awards of Aotearoa New Zealand Gold, Silver and Bronze medal winners have been announced – Congratulations to you all.

Emerging from the Royal Easter Show, the National Wine Awards of Aotearoa New Zealand, a new national wine awards are recognizing, identifying and celebrating excellence in New Zealand Wine. Judged from 20-22 September by a stellar team of judges led by the inimitable Jane Cooper with Olly Masters as Deputy Chair and joined by Meg Brodtmann MW as international guest judge.

National Wine Awards of Aotearoa New Zealand Header

Here are all the Gold Medal Winners – Silver and Bronze winners are listed here.


Lindauer Vintage Series Brut Cuvée 2017 Te Hana Brut NV Verde Brut NV


Askerne Reserve Gewurztraminer 2021


Lake Chalice Falcon Riesling 2021
Mischief With Wine Waipara Riesling 2021
Mud House Single Vineyard The Mound Riesling 2021
te Pa Marlborough Riesling 2021
Waipara Hills Waipara Valley Riesling 2020

Pinot Gris

Bald Hills Kirameki Central Otago Pinot Gris 2021
Duck Hunter Marlborough Pinot Gris 2022
Te Kano Otago Pinot Gris 2022
Two Rivers Phoenix Pinot Gris 2022

Sauvignon Blanc

Blind River Sauvignon Blanc 2022
Church Road McDonald Series Sauvignon Blanc 2019
Clark Estate Upper Awatere Single Vineyard Sauvignon Blanc 2021
Huntaway Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2022
Lake Chalice Falcon Sauvignon Blanc 2022
Lake Chalice Raptor Sauvignon Blanc 2021
Rapaura Springs Rohe Rapaura Sauvignon Blanc 2022
Russian Jack Sauvignon Blanc 2022
Saint Clair James Sinclair Sauvignon Blanc 2021
Saving Grace Sauvignon Blanc 2021
Yealands Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2022
Yealands Single Vineyard Sauvignon Blanc 2022


Askerne Reserve Chardonnay 2021
Beach House Track Chardonnay 2021
Catalina Sounds Chardonnay 2021
Catalina Sounds, Sound of White Chardonnay 2021
Church Road McDonald Series Chardonnay 2021
Clearview Estate Beachhead Chardonnay 2021
Clearview Estate Reserve Chardonnay 2021
Esk Valley Artisanal Hawkes Bay Chardonnay 2021
Holly Matahiwi Estate South Series Chardonnay 2021
Isabel Estate Marlborough Chardonnay 2020
Isabel Estate Marlborough Chardonnay 2021
The King’s Bastard Chardonnay 2020
The Landing Chardonnay 2020
Wairau River Estate Marlborough Chardonnay 2021

Other Single Varietal Whites & White Blends

Askerne Viognier 2021
Villa Maria Reserve Hawkes Bay Albarino 2022
Wairau River Reserve Marlborough Gruner Veltliner 2022

Sweet Wines

Giesen Late Harvest The Brothers Sauvignon Blanc 2017
Villa Maria Reserve Noble Riesling 2021

National Wine Awards of Aotearoa New Zealand Judging
Judging at the National Wine Awards of Aotearoa New Zealand

Rosé or Blush

Ash Ridge Estate Rosé 2022
Squawking Magpie First Flight Startled Pink 2022

Pinot Noir

Giesen Single Vineyard Clayvin Pinot Noir 2021
Lake Chalice Raptor Pinot Noir 2021
Matt Connell Wines Rendition Pinot Noir 2021
Maude Estate Pinot Noir 2021
Mondillo Pinot Noir 2020
Nga Waka Martinborough Pinot Noir 2020
Providore Pinot Noir 2019
Providore Pinot Noir First Edition 2020
Rapaura Springs Rohe Awatere Valley Pinot Noir 2021
Rockburn Nine Barrels Parkburn Vineyard Pinot Noir 2021
Te Kairanga Estate Pinot Noir 2021
te Pa Marlborough Pinot Noir 2021
Te Tera Pinot Noir 2021
TOHU Awatere Valley Pinot Noir 2019
Two Degrees Pinot Noir 2020
Wild Earth Reserve Earth and Sky Pinot Noir 2021

Cabernet Sauvignon & Cabernet-dominant Blends

Church Road 1 Cabernet Sauvignon 2020
Church Road Grand Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot 2020
Villa Maria Reserve Gimblett Gravels Hawkes Bay Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot 2020

Merlot & Merlot-dominant Blends

Church Road 1 Merlot 2020
Mud House Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2021


Church Road Syrah 2020
Giesen Single Vineyard Clayvin Syrah 2021
Squawking Magpie Gravels Syrah 2020
Wild Grace Hawkes Bay Syrah 2021

Other Single Varietal Reds & Red Blends

Esk Valley Artisanal Tempranillo 2021
Leftfield Hawkes Bay Malbec 2020
Saint Clair James Sinclair Malbec 2021

Full results are here:

For more Wine Events and Competitions visit our events calendar:

Share This Page / Post